Charles Clanton Rogers

Reflections based on poetry, music, visual art, book reviews, history of science, first-person history, philosophical essays and International Blogging

IMG_0106As I complete my eighty-first year, I review the many gifts and rewards that I have and have had.

Among the many, I am grateful to have lived with Eileen for nearly forty years, to

.have watched our children become mature, accomplished adults and to have had the remarkable privilege of a professional life working with outstanding caregivers, educators and friends.

Although I have had some excellent teachers, those who taught me the most were the Resident Physicians and my fellow caregivers, educators and staff with whom I worked for a quarter of a Century at GWUMC.

Socrates   was  known as a questioner of everything and everyone. His style of teaching—immortalized as the Socratic Method—involved not conveying knowledge but rather asking question after clarifying question until his students arrived at their own understanding.  The way I remember our years together: we were all students together, searching for, and sometimes finding some truth.

I regret that I am not able to attend the reunion, but I want all of my friends to know how much I value the experiences and friendships we shared.

 

 

3 thoughts on “Rewards

  1. katyadams@aol.com says:

    Thank you for your comments. You and Eileen will be missed at our annual “reunion.” It was a privilege for me to have trained under you, a Renaissance man and humanitarian, in making rounds on inpatients. I always loved (and repeated for the rest of my nursing career), ….at the end of the patient interview, “Is there anything you would like to ask me, or anything you would like to tell me.” Sometimes they said, “I’m afraid.” You listened to what they said and always responded with kindness, compassion, and appropriate reassurance and support.

    Best Wishes,

    Katy

    Like

    1. clanton1934 says:

      Thank you Katy, it was my privilege.
      c

      Like

Leave a Reply

Food for Poetryy

eat, sip, travel, click, pen down poetry = Helps best reflect on life !

The Wine Wankers

G’day, you’re at the best wine blog ever! We're all about wine; without the wankery.

Faraday's Candle

It's an amazing world of science...let's go exploring!

しまやん徒然旅日記

(旧・しまやん香港アジア支局) 人生は旅のすべて、日々を綴っていきます。

L.T. Garvin

Eclectic blog: short fiction, poetry, humor, occasional dreams and wild book schemes.

autumnacorn

hand knits + patterns inspired by nature

Exploring the history of prisoner health

Prisoners, Medical Care and Entitlement to Health in England and Ireland, 1850-2000

Fiction All Day

Writing and Life ~ by David Ben-Ami

Logical Quotes

Logical and Inspirational quotes

A Narcissist Writes Letters, To Himself

A Hopefully Formerly Depressed Human Vows To Practice Self-Approval

Leonard Durso

"Literature is language charged with meaning." Ezra Pound

