Charles Clanton Rogers

Reflections based on poetry, music, visual art, book reviews, history of science, first-person history, philosophical essays and International Blogging

10898098_10153019953629700_4966016242026080777_n

I entered college  with a mind full of things which are on the minds of eighteen year old boys away from home,  which was not  English.

All freshmen had to take an English proficiency exam to determine whether they should be placed in English 101 (remedial) or 103. Having been found deficient, I was assigned to Miss Heron (English 101) for four hours a week for four months of diagraming sentences, introduction to the dictionary, the thesaurus,  the library card catalogue, the Dewey Decimal System and White and Strunk’s The Elements of Style. I felt like I was in Marine Boot Camp but with English grammar instead of an M-1 rifle to field strip, to clean and have inspected by my drill sergeant, Miss Heron.

When  I finally got over that wall, the second semester arrived, and I was invited to join English 104, where I met Miss Elizabeth Hope Jackson, the Guardian of the Western Canon. Miss Jackson adopted me as a charity case. For example, I spoke a word for the structure which covers a house. In front of the entire class, Miss Jackson, loudly and patronizingly announced: “Mr. Rogers, ‘ruff’ is what a dog says; the top of a house is  pronounced: ‘RUUUUPH”.

Miss Jackson required that if I was to be hypodermically injected with some of Miss Jackson’s literature wisdom, I would have to pay for it, as did Liza Doolittle, by learning and using Miss Jackson’s  enunciation.

For the next eighteen months, four hours a week, she alligator-wrestled with my language skills. No multiple choice exams for Miss Jackson! Every exam was a “blue book” written essay. Red ink notes and corrections filled all the space of my margins. Each misspellings was a half-letter grade off whether or not the content was accurate.  Repeat again and again.

Now, decades latter,  as I write down my thoughts in a blog, I hear myself exclaiming: “Look at me, Miss Jackson, no hands!”

Leave a Reply

Food for Poetryy

eat, sip, travel, click, pen down poetry = Helps best reflect on life !

The Wine Wankers

G’day, you’re at the best wine blog ever! We're all about wine; without the wankery.

Faraday's Candle

It's an amazing world of science...let's go exploring!

しまやん徒然旅日記

(旧・しまやん香港アジア支局) 人生は旅のすべて、日々を綴っていきます。

L.T. Garvin

Eclectic blog: short fiction, poetry, humor, occasional dreams and wild book schemes.

autumnacorn

hand knits + patterns inspired by nature

Exploring the history of prisoner health

Prisoners, Medical Care and Entitlement to Health in England and Ireland, 1850-2000

Fiction All Day

Writing and Life ~ by David Ben-Ami

Logical Quotes

Logical and Inspirational quotes

A Narcissist Writes Letters, To Himself

A Hopefully Formerly Depressed Human Vows To Practice Self-Approval

Leonard Durso

"Literature is language charged with meaning." Ezra Pound

