Charles Clanton Rogers

Reflections based on poetry, music, visual art, book reviews, history of science, first-person history, philosophical essays and International Blogging

10686656_698049800294029_2201389199592728576_nImage by Kathy Shogren, generously provided by the artist.  Poet: Robert Frost

“I went to turn the grass once after one
Who mowed it in the dew before the sun.

The dew was gone that made his blade so keen
Before I came to view the leveled scene.

I looked for him behind an isle of trees;
I listened for his whetstone on the breeze.

But he had gone his way, the grass all mown,
And I must be, as he had been,—alone,

As all must be,’ I said within my heart,
Whether they work together or apart.’

But as I said it, swift there passed me by
On noiseless wing a ‘wildered butterfly,

Seeking with memories grown dim o’er night
Some resting flower of yesterday’s delight.

And once I marked his flight go round and round,
As where some flower lay withering on the ground.

And then he flew as far as eye could see,
And then on tremulous wing came back to me.

I thought of questions that have no reply,
And would have turned to toss the grass to dry;

But he turned first, and led my eye to look
At a tall tuft of flowers beside a brook,

A leaping tongue of bloom the scythe had spared
Beside a reedy brook the scythe had bared.

I left my place to know them by their name,
Finding them butterfly weed when I came.

The mower in the dew had loved them thus,
By leaving them to flourish, not for us,

Nor yet to draw one thought of ours to him.
But from sheer morning gladness at the brim.

The butterfly and I had lit upon,
Nevertheless, a message from the dawn,

That made me hear the wakening birds around,
And hear his long scythe whispering to the ground,

And feel a spirit kindred to my own;
So that henceforth I worked no more alone;

But glad with him, I worked as with his aid,
And weary, sought at noon with him the shade;

And dreaming, as it were, held brotherly speech
With one whose thought I had not hoped to reach.

Men work together, I told him from the heart,

Whether they work together or apart.”

The Tuft of Flowers

by Robert Frost  1874-1963, Poet Laureate of the United States

There is no them; there’s only us.  All life is one.  /ccr

Janice says: “Caring is Sharing” Feel free to “share” or “reblog”  ccr

8 thoughts on “The Tuft of Flowers

  1. bbnewsab says:

    Kathy Shogren? I think she must have Swedish ancestors. Shogren is an “Americanized” form av the Swedish surname Sjögren (meaning “the tree branch down at the lake” or something like that.

    So if you know Kathy Shogren, Kung Karl, why not ask her if her grandfather emigrated from Sweden to the United States?

    BTW, I think I’ve heard that appeasing piece of music before – but who’s the composer?

    In Sweden we call that kind of music “örongodis”. A literal translation of that word is “candy for your ears”. My question to you, Kung Karl, is as follows: What’s the right American word for “örongodis”?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. clanton1934 says:

    Bengt, Kathy is Swedish. The music is Prelude-a-lapres-midi-dun-faune by Claude Debussy,1894. ccr

    Liked by 1 person

  3. bbnewsab says:

    Looking at the wonderful butterfly pic once more I come to think of this intriguing Wikipedia article about Monarch Butterfly Migration, see: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Monarch_butterfly_migration#Migratory_theory_mechanisms .

    How can the butterflies know where to fly?

    I’ve heard creationists state that this migration pattern can only be explained by interventions by Almighty God, the creator of all life forms.

    But in the Wikipedia article you can read about other possible explanations as well.

    I think that both your cats, Kung Karl, named Darwin and Einstein share my thought that the migration mechanisms proposed in the Wikipedia are more trustworthy than the God of the Gaps hypothesis YECs are so fond of pointing to.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. bbnewsab says:

    And that, in turn, reminds me of what Rosa Rubicondior once wrote in one of her many anti-Creationist blogs:

    Inspired by the introduction to the two-volume Biology for Christian Students, I thought I would produce a little maths primer for Christian students based on the same principle. Creationist homeschoolers will find it especially useful.

    The introduction to the Christian biology book, written by creationist Stephen S. Pinkston and published by Bob Jones University states, on page 1:

    [1] ‘Whatever the Bible says is so; whatever man says may or may not be so,’ is the only [position] a Christian can take…”

    [2] If [scientific] conclusions contradict the Word of God, the conclusions are wrong, no matter how many scientific facts may appear to back them.

    [3] Christians must disregard [scientific hypotheses or theories] that contradict the Bible.

    In short Ken Ham couldn’t have said it better himself.

    So, Kung Karl, I really hope you had another biology book to study when you went to college. (Or else, you may have got a problem. A huge and big one… :o) )

    If you don’t believe me, ask your cats Darwin and Einstein. They both seem to be better educated than most YECs are.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. bbnewsab says:

    Just checked my mailbox before going to bed. Found this interesting article tip: http://www.bbc.co.uk/guides/zx6sfg8?ns_mchannel .

    About how we experience music and what music can mean to us humans.

    I’m too tired tonight to read it, But i hope you, Karl, and other readers of your blog will find it worthwhile to read.

    And with those words I close down for tonight, and wishing you, Darwin, and Einstein a good night’s sleep.

    Also wishing you a happy weekend! // BB

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Food for Poetryy

eat, sip, travel, click, pen down poetry = Helps best reflect on life !

The Wine Wankers

G’day, you’re at the best wine blog ever! We're all about wine; without the wankery.

Faraday's Candle

It's an amazing world of science...let's go exploring!

しまやん徒然旅日記

(旧・しまやん香港アジア支局) 人生は旅のすべて、日々を綴っていきます。

L.T. Garvin

Eclectic blog: short fiction, poetry, humor, occasional dreams and wild book schemes.

autumnacorn

hand knits + patterns inspired by nature

Exploring the history of prisoner health

Prisoners, Medical Care and Entitlement to Health in England and Ireland, 1850-2000

Fiction All Day

Writing and Life ~ by David Ben-Ami

Logical Quotes

Logical and Inspirational quotes

A Narcissist Writes Letters, To Himself

A Hopefully Formerly Depressed Human Vows To Practice Self-Approval

Leonard Durso

"Literature is language charged with meaning." Ezra Pound

