Charles Clanton Rogers

Reflections based on poetry, music, visual art, book reviews, history of science, first-person history, philosophical essays and International Blogging

“When I am an old woman I shall wear purple
With a red hat which doesn’t go….”[1]

Well, I’m 81, and I’m going to metaphorically “wear some purple”,  today by playing; the cute card….

 

cute kitten        cute kittens           cute puppies

cute puppy    cute kittems        images-10

 

 

“I’ll have what shes’s having”  I’ll have:  a kitten, two puppies, and I’ll take a pass on the ideas.

My analysis: Posts of cute animals is viewed, Liked, and commented on with great enthusiasm.

Posts with ideas are wallflowers.

Writers must construct, with amusing images,  a Trojan horse (kittens & puppies) containing an idea, to get the readers attention.

So if you haven’t changed the channel on me: here are three ideas:

[A] “He who has a Why can bear almost any How”, Frederich Nietzsche

One’s “Why” cannot be oneself. Emotionally, biologically, and morally, it is essentially Others! -Charles Rogers [2]

[B]  “All Life is One” [3]

[C]  ” There is no them; there’s only us.”[4]

Now that you had your vegetables, here is your dessert: cute horses.

cute horse

Charles Clanton Rogers  October 28, 2015

Please enter your geography in the comments section. Your comments are warmly invited. Use a nom du plum, if you wish.  ReBlogs are invited. “Caring is Sharing” Thank you! ccr

References

[1]  Jenny Joseph’s “When I Am An Old Woman I Shall Wear Purple”
When I am an old woman I shall wear purple
With a red hat which doesn’t go, and doesn’t suit me.
And I shall spend my pension on brandy and summer gloves
And satin sandals, and say we’ve no money for butter.
I shall sit down on the pavement when I’m tired
And gobble up samples in shops and press alarm bells
And run my stick along the public railings
And make up for the sobriety of my youth.
I shall go out in my slippers in the rain
And pick flowers in other people’s gardens And learn to spit.

You can wear terrible shirts and grow more fat
And eat three pounds of sausages at a go
Or only bread and pickle for a week
And hoard pens and pencils and beermats and things in boxes.

But now we must have clothes that keep us dry
And pay our rent and not swear in the street
And set a good example for the children.
We must have friends to dinner and read the papers.

But maybe I ought to practice a little now?
So people who know me are not too shocked and surprised
When suddenly I am old, and start to wear purple.

[2]  http://therogerspost.com/2015/10/11/two-forties/

[3]  http://therogerspost.com/2015/09/30/animals-human/ ‎

[4]   http://therogerspost.com/2015/10/03/individual-tribe/

17 thoughts on ““When I’m an Old Woman, I shall wear purple….”

  1. Yea!! Red hat society! Thanks for the fun post!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. clanton1934 says:

      I thank you; it’s really helpful to get comments! From you especially!
      ccr

      Liked by 1 person

      1. We feel the same! Enjoy the rest of the week.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. clanton1934 says:

        Charles Rogers for Faraday’s Candle ladies:

        “Successful musicians play their scales everyday; scales are the ammunition for their enterprise. You expect their daily performance to use the correct notes and phrases witch are composed from the correct scales. Writing should verbally imitate the musician who plays his message which is constructed of carefully selected notes use in the correct order. I don’t listen to sloppy musicians; why would I read sloppy writing?” Practice your writing the way a musician practices his scales. Charles Rogers, (a developing writer)

        Liked by 1 person

      3. wow! Well thank you. That is a wonderful compliment coming from you.
        Happy Halloween and enjoy your weekend.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. susurrus says:

    Cute and thoughtful works for me!

    Liked by 2 people

  3. bbnewsab says:

    Agree with susurrus. This is both cute and thoughtful. A very tasteful mix. I want more of the same later on, KK!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. bbnewsab says:

    I found a poem lately on the web. I think it fits in with your blog post – and the RWT community as a whole – very well. Here it is:

    When I am Old..

    I shall wear Turquoise and soft gray sweatshirts … and a bandana
    over my silver hair…..and I shall spend my Social Security Checks
    on Sweet Wine and My Dogs…….and sit in my house on my well-worn
    chair.and listen to my dog’s breathing.

    I will sneak out in the middle of a warm Summer night and take my
    dogs for a run, if my old bones will allow….. and when people come
    to call, I will smile and nod as I show them my dogs…and talk of
    them and about them…

    The Ones so Beloved of the Past and the Ones so Beloved of Today….

    I still will work hard cleaning after them and mopping and feeding
    them and whispering their names in a soft, loving way.. I will wear
    the gleaming sweat on my throat, like a jewel. And I will be an
    embarrassment to all…and my family … who have not yet found the
    peace in being free to have dogs as your Best Friends….

    These friends who always wait, at any hour, for your footfall…and
    eagerly jump to their feet out of a sound sleep, to greet you as if
    you are a God.With warm eyes full of adoring love and hope that you will stay and
    hug their big, strong necks…and kiss their dear sweet heads…and
    whisper to them of your love and the beautiful pleasure of their very
    special company….

    I look in the Mirror…..and see I am getting old…. this is the
    kind of woman I am…and have always been. Loving dogs is easy, they
    are part of me, accept me for who I am, my dogs appreciate my
    presence in their lives…when I am old this will be important to
    me…you will understand when you are old….& if you have dogs to love too.

    Author Unknown

    Liked by 1 person

    1. clanton1934 says:

      Yes, I can make a blog around that; playful! k

      Like

  5. Janice Wald says:

    Hi Charles,
    Sadly, I am still not listed under blogs you follow, but I am, at least, listed in your community which is good. I will Email you the rest.
    Janice

    Liked by 1 person

    1. clanton1934 says:

      I re-subscribed to your blog in hopes that would list you. I don’t know what more to do. Also i want an about widget Charles

      Like

      1. clanton1934 says:

        I am now confirmed as a follower; lets move you to the top of the list

        Like

  6. bbnewsab says:

    What a welcoming new blog I meet, KK!

    This reminds me of the discovery of Tutankhamun’s tomb in 1923.

    Carter wrote “With trembling hands I made a tiny breach in the upper left-hand corner. Darkness and blank space, as far as an iron testing-rod could reach, showed that whatever lay beyond was empty, and not filled like the passage we had just cleared. Candle tests were applied as a precaution against possible foul gases, and then, widening the hold a little, I inserted the candle and peered in, Lord Carnarvon, Lady Evelyn and Callender standing anxiously beside me to hear the verdict.

    At first I could see nothing, the hot air escaping from the chamber causing the candle flame to flicker, but presently, as my eyes grew accustomed to the light, details of the room within emerged slowly from the mist, strange animals, statues, and gold – everywhere the glint of gold.

    For the moment – an eternity it must have seemed to the others standing by – I was struck dumb with amazement, and when Lord Carnarvon, unable to stand the suspense any longer, inquired anxiously, “Can you see anything?” it was all I could do to get out the words, “Yes, wonderful things.”

    And now I can say the same: “I see wonderful things!”

    At last you’ve got a blog with a highly professional appearance. Worthy a blogger like you, KK!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. clanton1934 says:

      Wow! I will tell what is equally wonderful is having a journalist/ philosopher/ historian/ and lover of les belle arts, like PV, ignoring my omissions, and finding the positives and praising them. And to put this encouragement in my comments section for the world to see. There is an irony your “Discovering King Tut treasure” because you were the one who applied some of the “Jewels” of the discovered sarcophagus. Thank you. K

      Liked by 1 person

  7. bbnewsab says:

    Now your jewels can be displayed to everyone, KK!

    Can you see how they shimmer and emit sparks in the sunshine?

    I can both see and feel it.

    Hope you can too, KK.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. clanton1934 says:

      Our product also gives off a warmth; like a campfire on a frosty morning.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Food for Poetryy

eat, sip, travel, click, pen down poetry = Helps best reflect on life !

The Wine Wankers

G’day, you’re at the best wine blog ever! We're all about wine; without the wankery.

Faraday's Candle

It's an amazing world of science...let's go exploring!

しまやん徒然旅日記

(旧・しまやん香港アジア支局) 人生は旅のすべて、日々を綴っていきます。

L.T. Garvin

Eclectic blog: short fiction, poetry, humor, occasional dreams and wild book schemes.

autumnacorn

hand knits + patterns inspired by nature

Exploring the history of prisoner health

Prisoners, Medical Care and Entitlement to Health in England and Ireland, 1850-2000

Fiction All Day

Writing and Life ~ by David Ben-Ami

Logical Quotes

Logical and Inspirational quotes

A Narcissist Writes Letters, To Himself

A Hopefully Formerly Depressed Human Vows To Practice Self-Approval

Leonard Durso

"Literature is language charged with meaning." Ezra Pound

