Charles Clanton Rogers

Reflections based on poetry, music, visual art, book reviews, history of science, first-person history, philosophical essays and International Blogging

https://clanton1934.files.wordpress.com/2015/11/15-billy-the-kid_-iii-mexican-dance-and-finale.m4a54d3f67d42f7a_-_100-cars-039-morgan-plus4-1211-xln-48713066

When I was a Resident Physician, I had a 1947 MG-TD   exactly like this. The “wind-screen” folded down on the bonnet.

The rag top was nearly useless and it did not have windows. I loved that car!

54d3f68d3ec25_-_100-cars-075-porsche-carrera-27rs-1211-xln-14422088

I had a 356 B Porsche in Candy Apple Red

54d3f6724b69f_-_100-cars-015-corvette-c1-1211-de-9203080354d3f695ed8be_-_100-cars-094-chevy-corvette-1211-de-35743831

I had a 1961 Corvette “Sting-Ray” with a removable hard-top (intermediate model between these two models)

54d3f688bdda9_-_100-cars-065-trans-am-1211-xln-52591235

I had The soft top Convertable of this Pontiac Firebird (Smokey & the Bandit car) The soft top went up electrically with once simple push of a dashboard button; my previous convertible tops required getting our the car and getting help to put the top down, With this Firebird, I put the top down almost everytime. Loved that car!

54d3f68663ce5_-_100-cars-060-jaguar-xk120-1211-xln-94369413

This Jaguar XK 120 was my father’s mid-life consolation. (Fire Engine Red)

Now in my rocking chair, I doze and dream  of  “four-on-the-floor”, wind-the-hair, and bugs-in-the-teeth!

In the comments section, tell me about cars you have loved.

Charles Clanton Rogers  November 26, 2015

7 thoughts on “Once Upon a Time I Was Car Crazy!

  1. bbnewsab says:

    Even James Bond should be envy of you being the owner of cars like these, KK. Especially the first and last one in your photo gallery.

    Who knows, maybe you are to become the next James Bond? I strongly recommend that you already tomorrow start your work-outs at a gym near the place you live at. You’ve got the brains, KK, to become the next James Bond. But remember, is also brawny. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    1. clanton1934 says:

      Faraday’s Candle: Thanks for the support! Looks like I’m off and running on International Blogging! Pleased stay tuned, A poet from Australia on Dec. 3;
      (I’m glad to appreciated the American iconography: Louis Armstrong, Ella Fitzgerald and George Gershwin- Unique to America. Charles

      Like

      1. It’s wonderful you are enjoying this.
        Enjoying every phase of your life is so important!!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. clanton1934 says:

        Someone said I was 81 years old. I said NO; I’ve done 40 X 2 and I’ve started my third lap! Wave as I go by! Charles

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Ha, ha, ha!! Way to go!!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Food for Poetryy

eat, sip, travel, click, pen down poetry = Helps best reflect on life !

The Wine Wankers

G’day, you’re at the best wine blog ever! We're all about wine; without the wankery.

Faraday's Candle

It's an amazing world of science...let's go exploring!

しまやん徒然旅日記

(旧・しまやん香港アジア支局) 人生は旅のすべて、日々を綴っていきます。

L.T. Garvin

Eclectic blog: short fiction, poetry, humor, occasional dreams and wild book schemes.

autumnacorn

hand knits + patterns inspired by nature

Exploring the history of prisoner health

Prisoners, Medical Care and Entitlement to Health in England and Ireland, 1850-2000

Fiction All Day

Writing and Life ~ by David Ben-Ami

Logical Quotes

Logical and Inspirational quotes

A Narcissist Writes Letters, To Himself

A Hopefully Formerly Depressed Human Vows To Practice Self-Approval

Leonard Durso

"Literature is language charged with meaning." Ezra Pound

