Charles Clanton Rogers

Reflections based on poetry, music, visual art, book reviews, history of science, first-person history, philosophical essays and International Blogging

 

drawing from gross anatomy

A first person history

A syllogism (Greek: συλλογισμός syllogismos, “conclusion, inference”) is a kind of logical argument that applies deductive reasoning to arrive at a conclusion based on two or more propositions that are asserted or assumed to be true.

“In its earliest form, defined by Aristotle, from the combination of a general statement (the major premise) and a specific statement (the minor premise), a conclusion is deduced. For example, knowing that all men are mortal (major premise) and that Socrates is a man (minor premise), we may validly conclude that Socrates is mortal. Syllogistic arguments are usually represented in a three-line form (without sentence-terminating periods)”

One way to make a public school student into a medical student:

[1952: The Chairman of the English Department invited me to major in a Science Department. I was taking Biology 101 to satisfy general requirements for a bachelor’s degree.    In the middle of the Twentieth Century, the fund of biological information, to be conveyed to college students could be simply represented pictorially.  My drawing skills outdistanced my language skills. [In the fifty’s, only 5 -7 % of the class were awarded the grade of A.  The letter grade C was defined as the average, good grade]

(1) My grades of A‘s in Biology carried my grades of C ‘s in English yielding a overall B average. 

(2) My A‘s in Biology relied almost entirely on my drawing and visualization skills!  

(3) My B average permitted me to sneak into a very competitive class in medical school. 

(4) Therefore, drawing made me into a physician and surgeon!

 

Although, I spent many hours, days, weeks and years drawing, all of my portfolio is in my college  library, stored, discarded  or lost. Regrettably, I have lost all of my drawings. They were a major part of my life. The drawings used here are uploaded from the Internet. Forgive me for forsaking humility; my own drawings were as good as some of these- otherwise I would not have survived on my language skills. (Well, except for Michelangelo. -I was never that good.)

I made money drawing during college, illustrating other student’s thesis.

Theses drawings which I have borrowed here ,will illustrate my education.

drawing    drawings of childhood

I was a slow student in reading, writing and recitation.

In school, two things saved me and propelled me into a profession. Mathematics and Drawing.

You may think it unlikely but I was always the one to “see it” in math before anyone else. Let me hasten to tell you I paid dearly for this, always bringing up the rear in reading and language skills. (At 18, I had to spend one semester in remedial English grammar-I still can’t spell.)..LittlePrinceDJCover

While I was trying to hide my slow reading and memorization skills, I was blessed with almost precocious ability to see things three dimensionally.  I have had medical students who quickly memorized textual materials who were quite slow to look at a plain x-ray image and expand it in the third dimension in their mind’s eye. That is a skill which is difficult to teach; it was a gift to me.

mathematics     Pythagoras-proof-anim.svg

I discovered very early that I was a visual learner and I leaned on that ability to learn and partly obscure my use of the English language.

Mathematics was a natural for me. When others were struggling with number sets etc., I quickly visualized a problem three-dimensionally. I “saw” multiplication graphically and would draw squares and cubes divided into smaller cubes one could count. I could visualize a picture of both sides of the equation e.g.  a2 + b2 = c2; I could have figured that out; but struggled memorizing The Gettysburg Address.

In high school I took three full years of mechanical drawing plus  a year of architectural drawing

drawing mechanical

drawing, mechanicl

At the center for all my learning and being tested was drawing, We had a family friend who was a commercial artist. In high school my best performance was in mechanical and architectural drawing.

drawing architectual

 

II think I might have been content to have spent my life drawing. For my sixteenth birthday, I was given a drafting table for my bedroom  While my peers were out practicing their social skills I chose to sit at my table at home and draw -it was recreational for me.

drawing table

 

College

Freshman year college – biologydrawing biololgy 101 Biology in 1952 was not yet molecular; it was largely descriptive.

drawing of insects

I made C’s in memorizing classifications (Philae, etc). I compensated with getting stellar grading of my biology drawings. I used  the drawing of parts of the specimens was my crutch for parts of the specimen.

It was at this point in my education that I readDarwin - treeCharles Darwin for the first time. Darwin OriginThe epiphany of Darwin remained unappreciated and misunderstood in the community of my youth.

Here are a few of Darwin’s field drawings:

darwin drawings 2drawings ny darwin

I began studying the drawings of Michaelangelo and  Davinci.I could never aspire to approach Michaelangelo.

drawing of Michaelaelo   drawing of Davinci

In my sophomore year, I took  Comparative anatomy:; as an upperclassman, I taught Comparative Anatomy (Sub for the Professor)

drawing for comparative anatomy

Drawing for my Thesis: Embryologydrawing for embryology

 

Medical School:

Gross Anatomy drawing

drawing for human anatomydrawing for anatomy

 

Pathology

drawing for malignancy

 

surgery

drawing -surgery

drawing Tibia-ankle-repairS

 

Saxophone: Steve Rogers  – Kim Reynolds Quartet

Later I had to learn Nuclear Medicine

 

drwings of nuclear fusion

 

Therefore, without drawing, I would not have had the high privilege of the responsibilities of my profession. It was my first rose.

the rose of the prince #! best

 

Your Rose is your responsibility is your rose is responsibility.  It is only in your responsibility (your rose) wherein you can find fulfillment, the ultimate reward, and treasure. Antoine de Exupery
It is only by loving and nurturing others that you can find yourself.

Your rose is the mirror of your soul.  ccr

Joe Henderson, Saxophone, “Bess, yo iz my woman, now.”

Charles Clanton Rogers, AB, MD, FACR    December 2 2015

charlesclantonrogers@me.com

10 thoughts on “Drawing made me into a physician and surgeon.

  1. bbnewsab says:

    Wow! This post I really liked and appreciated! Beautiful pics. And a developing “story” that thrills my mind.

    A key sentence in this long essay is, I think, this one: “My A‘s in Biology relied almost entirely on my drawing and visualization skills!”

    In many ways a doctor, especially a surgeon, is an artist. Without visualization skills you can’t become a good surgeon. It’s like carpentry and other handicraft.

    These words of Michelangelo come into my mind: “In every block of marble I see a statue as plain as though it stood before me, shaped and perfect in attitude and action. I have only to hew away the rough walls that imprison the lovely apparition to reveal it to the other eyes as mine see it.”

    So, my dear friend KK, I can see a kind of close relationship between you and Michelangelo. And I hope you too can see what unites both of you.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. clanton1934 says:

      Yes, Michelangelo is my “patron Saint” His mind is premier example of “shadows of the inexplicable” of life. Robert Sapolsky (B’s others) showed that most of Sapiens qualities are barely different from baboons. Michelangelo is my evidence that some men’s vision is “more-than-animal”, living in an animal vehicle!
      Also your quote of hewing away the irrelevant is on my mind every day. My writing method is similar to his sculpting.
      Every morning Darwin and I sit at my computer, punching the keyboard; it may sound crazy but I don’t start “saying:I’ve got this message to record. I type in a sentence and “I see the David” hiding. I move words around and I never know what the product is until I discover it; then it’s 2/3 editing draft after draft (25+) . This past year I have a fun that is new to me.I get a surprise from each essay; that is: I didn’t know the story is there until I start punching the keys- it’s almost like I’m taking dictation from a Charles that I did not know. I’m very pleased that someone appreciates it. K

      Like

  2. This is quite an interesting post specially now a days when kids are judged more on what they can memorize.
    Did you draw these drawings? They are superb.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. clanton1934 says:

      Regrettably, these are not my drawings. My drawings are way back, deep in “the Stacks” in my college in the “class of 1956”. These are lifted from the Internet (acknowledged) As drawing and visualization was my principal genetic asset and my refuge during adolescence, my drawings were of professional quality (in MY memory. 😇

      Like

      1. It’s so funny that this post has come up because right now the girls are spending so much time drawing.
        It is something that you can revisit. It would be wonderful to see.
        As you know Nutsrok’s mother does all her drawings. They remind me of Grandma Moses the folk painter.
        like always, there is something to learn in your writing.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. clanton1934 says:

        Michelangelo’s final words to his apprentice was reported to be: “draw constantly, every day, do not tary!” For the girls: IMHO, time well spent: 1. read, read, read, every day; 2. keep a diary & write, write, write, at least 15 min./ a day, even if you write down: “I don’t feel like writing, today” 3.make a habit of drawing; sketch, draw and doodle in the diary. 4. practice a musical instrument or sing every day (scales) [Free advice, for what’s worth] Charles

        Like

      3. Great advice…thank you!

        Liked by 1 person

      4. clanton1934 says:

        “Touche'” I gladly accept you challenge!! But I must warn you,, you are confronting my strength! “En guard!” Take this one from “The Little Prince”
        “Grown-ups love figures. When you tell them that you have made a new friend, they never ask you any questions about essentail matters. They never say to you, “What does his voice sound like? What games does he love best? Does he collect butterflies?” Instead, they demand: “How old is he? How many brothers has he? How much does he weigh? How much money does his father make?” Only from these figures do they think they have learned anything about him.
        “And now here is my secret, a very simple secret: It is only with the heart that one can see rightly; what is essential is invisible to the eye.”
        “All grown-ups were once children… but only few of them remember it.” Antoine de Saint Exupurey
        I’m just an old country doctor c.

        Liked by 2 people

      5. This comment has just given me an idea and will be presented to the girls for their challenge.
        Take care my friend and guard your wisdom closely!!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Food for Poetryy

eat, sip, travel, click, pen down poetry = Helps best reflect on life !

The Wine Wankers

G’day, you’re at the best wine blog ever! We're all about wine; without the wankery.

Faraday's Candle

It's an amazing world of science...let's go exploring!

しまやん徒然旅日記

(旧・しまやん香港アジア支局) 人生は旅のすべて、日々を綴っていきます。

L.T. Garvin

Eclectic blog: short fiction, poetry, humor, occasional dreams and wild book schemes.

autumnacorn

hand knits + patterns inspired by nature

Exploring the history of prisoner health

Prisoners, Medical Care and Entitlement to Health in England and Ireland, 1850-2000

Fiction All Day

Writing and Life ~ by David Ben-Ami

Logical Quotes

Logical and Inspirational quotes

A Narcissist Writes Letters, To Himself

A Hopefully Formerly Depressed Human Vows To Practice Self-Approval

Leonard Durso

"Literature is language charged with meaning." Ezra Pound

