Charles Clanton Rogers

Reflections based on poetry, music, visual art, book reviews, history of science, first-person history, philosophical essays and International Blogging

ella and louie 2

Summertime-
And the livin’ is easy
Fish are jumpin, don’t you know my darling, I said a-right now
And the cotton is high
Like-a like-a like-a you’re daddy’s rich
And your mommy’s good-lookin’, yeah
So hush, pretty little baby, don’t you cry
One of these, one of these, one of these mornings, darlin’
You’re gonna rise, you’re gonna rise up singin’
Then you’ll spread your little wings, your little wings
And-a take to the ska-da-da-da-dy
Until-a that mornin’
There’s nothin’ gonna harm you, girl
With Mommy and Daddy standing by—”

George Gershwin and DuBose Heyward

There is a test at the end. Find the answer and and write me: charlesclantonrogers@me.com

Icon alert! Icon: George Gershwin

Icon: Cole Porter

Icon: Louis Armstrong

Icon: Ella Fitzgerald

Charles Rogers America: “Baseball, Apple Pie, George Gershwin, Cole Porter, Louis Armstrong, Ella Fitzgerald!”

Louis 5

m4a=”https://clanton1934.files.wordpress.com/2015/08/06-they-cant-take-that-away-from-me.m4a”%5D%5B/audio%5D

 

ella 3

Porgy and Bess [An American Opera]

 

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Porgy_and_Bess

 

 

louis-armstrong-ab-b

https://www.bing.com/videos/search?q=youtube+louie+armstrong&FORM=VIRE1#view=detail&mid=D064BCF3B06678773859D064BCF3B06678773859

ella 2

ella and louie 3

louis armstrong 3

ella

My Top Ten

#10 Three Dog Life
#9 The Evolution of One Writer
#8 Before I Built a Wall….
#7 Birches – Robert Frost
#6 You Could Be Immortal
#5 My Writing Is Like a Jazz Solo
#4 Ella and Louis  12/18
#3 Journey of the Human Mind – Introduction 12/20
#2 Writers and The Butterfly 12/22
#1 Lessons from My Grandmother 12/24

References:

(1) Walt Whitman. Whitman, 1900. Leaves of Grass
http://www.bartleby.com/…;
The American Heritage Book of English Usage. 1996. I CELEBRATE myself;.
(2) http://therogerspost.com/2015/08/31/driving-writers/
(3) Porgy and Bess, George Gershwin, Porgy and Bess is an English-language opera composed in 1934 by George Gershwin, with a libretto written by DuBose Heyward and Ira Gershwin from Heyward’s novel Porgy and later play of the same title. Porgy and Bess were first performed in New York City on September 30, 1935,
(4) Why are there only 12 pitch notes (C, C#, …, B) in the world?
I learned that pitch is determined by a frequency of the sound waves. I know that each note has specific frequency Hz. For example, C3 is 130.8Hz and C#3 is 138.6. So what the heck is between those two pitch notes? If there are so many pitches between these half-step notes, how come it feels like almost all pitches in the world can be identified as one of the 12 pitch notes? Quora
(5)n music, call and response is a technique where one musician offers a phrase and a second player answers with a direct commentary or response to the offered phrase. The musicians build on each other’s offering and work together to move the song along and create a sound that’s inventive and collective. Outside of instruments, speakers and listeners also tap into call and response when statements (calls) are accented by expressions (responses) from the listener.
Mirroring the drum’s rat tat tat that sparks the piano’s twinkle of notes, when I facilitate ISKME’s Action Collabs, I use improvisational techniques to encourage participants to listen and build on each other’s contributions as they score their way to new solutions in education.
(6) English is a rich and beautiful language, not least because England has been conquered by Vikings and Normans and has happily been open to foreign influence through its history. We know more of its wonderful rare words because English has been written for over a thousand years, and its many dialects are well described. That’s good enough for me. We shouldn’t need it to have the biggest vocabulary—which can’t be defined in any sensible way—to enjoy it. Counting words
The biggest vocabulary?
Jun 23rd 2010, 14:00 BY R.L.G. | NEW YORK, The Economist

Charles Clanton Rogers  Revised December 18, 2015

Test: One song is repeated in this post. Identify it and write me at charlesclantonrogers@me.com

 

(

 

 

 

 

9 thoughts on “#4/ My Top 10 Posts: AMERICAN ICONS

  1. bbnewsab says:

    But if I tell the right answer here in the comment field, then everyone can copy my answer. So I’d better wait a day or so before disclosing what song you have repeated. I want all your followers to listen to ALL the songs. They are worth listening to. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. clanton1934 says:

      You can e-mail me your answer, PK and Ivwill credit you in a few days! K
      My favorite is “Stompin’ at the Savoy” which is yours? K

      Liked by 1 person

  2. bbnewsab says:

    I have to listen to all the songs at least once more before deciding which one is my favorite. I’ll do that tomorrow.

    Now I can just repeat what I wrote above. ALL the songs are beautiful, in one way or another. So if you don’t listen, you’re doing yourself a disfavor.

    And to you, KK, I want to say: I really like your musical taste preferences.

    Like

    1. clanton1934 says:

      Thanks; I will have to wait. I’m on my phone just now and the print is too small. I’ll will get to my computer later. K

      Like

  3. bbnewsab says:

    Romantic as I am, I’ve found my #1 favorite song: Under a blanket of blue.

    It’s just wonderful. Brings back many sweet memories.

    Under a blanket of blue
    Just you and I beneath the stars
    Wrapped in the arms of sweet romance
    The night is ours

    Under a blanket of blue
    Let me be thrilled by all your charms
    Darling, I know my heart will dance
    Within your arms

    A summer night’s magic, enthralling me so
    The night would be tragic
    If you weren’t here to share it my dear
    Covered with heaven above

    Let’s dream a dream of love for two
    Wrapped in the arms of sweet romance
    Under a blanket of blue

    Under a blanket of blue
    Just you and I beneath the stars
    Wrapped in the arms of sweet romance
    The night is ours

    Under a blanket of blue
    Let me be thrilled by all your charms
    Darling, I know my heart will dance
    Within your arms

    A summer night’s magic, enthralling me so
    The night would be tragic
    If you weren’t here to share it my dear
    Covered with heaven above

    Let’s dream a dream of love for two
    Wrapped in the arms of sweet romance
    Under a blanket of blue
    Under a blanket of blue

    Liked by 1 person

    1. clanton1934 says:

      That has great lyrics and a very lugubrious quality of the melody., A classic for many generations. Indeed.
      K

      Like

    2. clanton1934 says:

      It can work for roses & foxes!

      Like

  4. Thank you for the music lesson!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Food for Poetryy

eat, sip, travel, click, pen down poetry = Helps best reflect on life !

The Wine Wankers

G’day, you’re at the best wine blog ever! We're all about wine; without the wankery.

Faraday's Candle

It's an amazing world of science...let's go exploring!

しまやん徒然旅日記

(旧・しまやん香港アジア支局) 人生は旅のすべて、日々を綴っていきます。

L.T. Garvin

Eclectic blog: short fiction, poetry, humor, occasional dreams and wild book schemes.

autumnacorn

hand knits + patterns inspired by nature

Exploring the history of prisoner health

Prisoners, Medical Care and Entitlement to Health in England and Ireland, 1850-2000

Fiction All Day

Writing and Life ~ by David Ben-Ami

Logical Quotes

Logical and Inspirational quotes

A Narcissist Writes Letters, To Himself

A Hopefully Formerly Depressed Human Vows To Practice Self-Approval

Leonard Durso

"Literature is language charged with meaning." Ezra Pound

