Charles Clanton Rogers

Reflections based on poetry, music, visual art, book reviews, history of science, first-person history, philosophical essays and International Blogging

“Lessons from my grandmother~Introduction”

lessons fro my grandmother
This essay first appeared as “Early Childhood Education- 1938 Version”, as a Guest Author, in NOVEMBER 5, 2015, LAURA GRACE WELDON: Free Range Learning lauragraceweldon.com/blog-2
childhood [“pre-school is the foundation of an educated citizenry” ..Rogers]

 

“Catch that bird!“ Don’t let that chicken get away, Charles!”

chicken running
I was four years old, enrolled in Grandmother’s Biology & History class. On that morning, we covered the food chain, the hunt, the kill, butchering, anatomy of a hen, and introduction to animal reproduction.

Early Charles. late ’30’s

charles : a6
The time and place were 1938 Oklahoma. Money was scarce for everyone. My great inherited fortune was not money, but family. I won the family lottery!  I was an only child and only grandchild of a doting family. I was kind of a “prince” of an infinitely small principality consisting of five adults and one little boy.


I didn’t know it then, but the entire country was mired in the Great Depression. In our state, dust bowl conditions were destroying farms and forcing “Okies” into a desperate exodus in pursuit of California jobs.
Dust Bowl; Oklahoma,  Depression

Dust_Bowl_Oklahoma

Back to the morning’s Biology & History lesson. Grandmother and I were “the hunters.” We caught that chicken, terminated its earthly journey, then plucked and cleaned it. I learned comparative anatomy as Grandmother identified the hen’s internal structures. She talked about the chicken and egg as a circle of life. Then she coated the pieces in egg and flour and fried it along with fresh okra that we picked from her garden (we were the “gatherers”  too).


After lunch was my Music lesson, which meant Grandmother sang.That was just the morning.

I had a tricycle and Lil’ Red Wagon like these.

childhood 1
My grandmother was a seamstress; work that she did in our home. She was certain not to neglect that responsibility. Her sewing machine was a Singer foot trade model. She sat with both feet on the treadle. Pumping it back and forth moved a belt from the treadle up to a pulley attached to the needle mechanism. I didn’t realize it then, but observing the mechanical action was itself a Physics lesson.

sewing machine


Grandmother would spread the material out on the floor and pin the pattern pieces. She trusted me to cut pieces around the patterns with pinking shears. I knew a mistake could cause waste and expense, so I took this responsibility very seriously

.pinking shears

While she was making a dress, I had my little sewing projects. I learned how to thread a needle and sew two pieces of cloth together making a small pocket for coins. It seemed like a way to pass the time, but that early sewing experience came in handy years later when I became a physician and surgeon.


After I had completed sewing, it was Art class using coloring books and Crayola colors. I think I had eight colors. I was very careful to “stay-within-the-lines.” (another lesson for Life.)

color in side the lines
After dinner, Grandmother read to me. (“The Little Engine That Could,” story book was my favorite. I could say it by heart and turn the pictures pages as if I were reading.)

Train that cpould
Grandmother had plenty of other things to do, but whatever she was doing I was part of her team.
Often she impressed upon me that I needed to learn my lessons well because I was going to grow up and it would be my sacred responsibility to teach my children and my students the things she taught me, just as her parents had taught her when she was a girl.


Grandmother’s love was undeniable. In addition,  she certainly knew as the poet wrote,
“The hand that rocks the cradle is the hand that rules the World.”

images-7
Every waking moment was an education. That suited me just fine. It did not occur to me that the immersive learning of my early years was in any way unusual. My “preschool/homeschool” didn’t have any names or labels. It was just Life. I thought it was what everyone did.

alphabet
George Gershwin and DuBois Heyward wrote the opera, Porgy & Bess in 1934, my birth year.
The lyrics of its immortal song, “Summertime”, could have been the theme of my preschool years:

porgy & Bess

“One of these mornings you’re gonna rise up singing,

And you’ll spread your wings and you’ll take to the sky,

But ’til that morning, there ain’t nothin’ can harm you,

Hush little baby, don’t you cry.”
bab bird 2
Dedicated to Christa Belle Stevenson Clanton: Grandmother to Jan, Christy, Boscoe, Buz, Hank, Candy and Charles.

Summertime 1. Louie Armstrong & Ella Fitzgerald 2. Joe Hendeson
Charles Clanton Rogers,  Revised December, 2015
Please tell me your geography in the comment section. I curate international readers/ writers!  Feel free to Reblog or Share.
Reference: lauragraceweldon.com/blog-2

7 thoughts on “My best received post of 2015 [one/ten]

  1. Buz says:

    Great piece Charles! I really enjoyed the read. Kitty read the little train who thought he could to me. It’s moral has been engrained in me.
    Sounds like you had a grand childhood!!!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. bbnewsab says:

    Great post, KK!

    I particularly like your linking of generations together. That’s life in a nutshell.

    Wisdoms of how to lead a life are passed on in that manner.

    And now you are passing those wisdoms on to the next generation. While still alive.

    You could paraphrase the words the Roman poet Horace once used in his Odes: “Exegi monumentum aere perennius” (I have raised a monument more permanent than bronze). How about: “I’ve started raising my own monument [full of memories and wisdom, because it’s now my turn to pass all this valuable heritage on to future generations]?

    Of what I’ve seen so far, KK, I can easily conclude: “Wow, that monument – while not yet finished – seems to be a very palatable and lovely one.”

    Liked by 1 person

    1. clanton1934 says:

      Thank you. “I stand on the shoulders of giants!” K

      Liked by 1 person

    2. clanton1934 says:

      If that happens, I would be most rewarded as would my grandmother. I think she would be pleasantly surprised by an audience of so many nations; I am! K

      Liked by 1 person

  3. bbnewsab says:

    You have already launched your “project”, KK. Now you have to complete it. Your beautiful blog is the platform upon which you build your personal monument.

    From what I’ve seen so far, your monument is bound to become both impressive and awesome!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. clanton1934 says:

      PV, you have provided me with tools, materials and suggestions. You are a contributing architect. Thank you. (Steven appreciates the organization of my blog and wanted to emulate it for his blog.🍒🍒🍒

      Like

Leave a Reply

Food for Poetryy

eat, sip, travel, click, pen down poetry = Helps best reflect on life !

The Wine Wankers

G’day, you’re at the best wine blog ever! We're all about wine; without the wankery.

Faraday's Candle

It's an amazing world of science...let's go exploring!

しまやん徒然旅日記

(旧・しまやん香港アジア支局) 人生は旅のすべて、日々を綴っていきます。

L.T. Garvin

Eclectic blog: short fiction, poetry, humor, occasional dreams and wild book schemes.

autumnacorn

hand knits + patterns inspired by nature

Exploring the history of prisoner health

Prisoners, Medical Care and Entitlement to Health in England and Ireland, 1850-2000

Fiction All Day

Writing and Life ~ by David Ben-Ami

Logical Quotes

Logical and Inspirational quotes

A Narcissist Writes Letters, To Himself

A Hopefully Formerly Depressed Human Vows To Practice Self-Approval

Leonard Durso

"Literature is language charged with meaning." Ezra Pound

