Charles Clanton Rogers

Reflections based on poetry, music, visual art, book reviews, history of science, first-person history, philosophical essays and International Blogging

INTERNATIONAL BLOGGING 2015/12/30

 

image1

GUEST AUTHOR ~ Gloria Zachgo

 

I suppose it’s natural for me to write stories with Kansas settings. I grew up on a farm in Lincoln County KansasI  where I attended one of the last one-room schoolhouses  in the country. Although I was the only child in my grade for most of the eight years there, I had a wonderful teacher who took the time to make sure I had the best learning environment that was available to me. She taught me to be flexible, to be independent, and to explore my creativity, which later blossomed (albeit much later life)into my love for art and my current passion for writing

quill
I’ve been married to my high school sweetheart for forty-nine years. Although we started our first years of life together living in other states, we found our way back to Kansas when our children were still young. We’ve lived here ever since.
I’ve been blessed with the opportunity of enough time to pursue two of my dreams – painting and writing. I’m rather eclectic in both, using different mediums in my art and different genre’s in my writing.

quill
My art began to weigh down my walls, so in 2006 I joined a writing group. I started with memoirs but quickly found out I liked writing fictional short stories. I was having so much fun with it, that when our library sponsored a workshop with author Nancy Pickard, I attended. On my way home an idea started to develop to turn one of my short stories into a real manuscript. It was the birth of my debut novel, The Rocking Horse.

Gloria rocking horse
The Rocking Horse is character driven. I found my passion in writing about ordinary, everyday people and their struggles with what life deals them.

quill
My second novel, Never Waste Tears, is also about the struggles of ordinary people, though in a different time. Five different individuals each tell their own story of the struggles on the Kansas Plains in the 1860s.

Gloria - Never Waste

It too was based on a short story where my characters had many of the traits of my own grandparents and the land they lived on.gloria 12:28
Currently, I’m working on yet another set of characters with another storyline. It is my passion, my challenge, my frustration, and my joy.

I invite you to visit my website –

http://www.gloriazachgo.com

 

 

Reblog to promote Gloria’s novels.

Thank you

INTERNATIONAL BLOGGING Host:

Charles Clanton Rogers     December 30, 2015

“Before I built a wall I’d ask to know
What I was walling in or walling out,
And to whom I was like to give offense.
Something there is that doesn’t love a wall,”
Robert Frost
banner image courtesy of Myphoung Nguyen

Leave a Reply

Food for Poetryy

eat, sip, travel, click, pen down poetry = Helps best reflect on life !

The Wine Wankers

G’day, you’re at the best wine blog ever! We're all about wine; without the wankery.

Faraday's Candle

It's an amazing world of science...let's go exploring!

しまやん徒然旅日記

(旧・しまやん香港アジア支局) 人生は旅のすべて、日々を綴っていきます。

L.T. Garvin

Eclectic blog: short fiction, poetry, humor, occasional dreams and wild book schemes.

autumnacorn

hand knits + patterns inspired by nature

Exploring the history of prisoner health

Prisoners, Medical Care and Entitlement to Health in England and Ireland, 1850-2000

Fiction All Day

Writing and Life ~ by David Ben-Ami

Logical Quotes

Logical and Inspirational quotes

A Narcissist Writes Letters, To Himself

A Hopefully Formerly Depressed Human Vows To Practice Self-Approval

Leonard Durso

"Literature is language charged with meaning." Ezra Pound

